Micron and CNY leaders announce Micron Community Engagement Committee

by Emma Misiaszek & Katelyn McCarthy

Read the original article on CNY Central.

SYRACUSE, N.Y. — Micron President and CEO Sanjay Mehrotra and other top executives met with state and local leaders in Central New York Friday to share updates on the progress of Micron’s historic planned investment of up to $100 billion over the next 20-plus years to construct a new megafab in Clay.

Micron executives joined Gov. Kathy Hochul and County Executive Ryan McMahon in sharing an update on the Community Investment Framework agreement made between New York State and Micron in October 2022.

Gov. Kathy Hochul and Micron announced the members of the Micron Community Engagement Committee, representatives from Central New York and Micron that will support the company’s community investment strategy.

The Committee is made up of local stakeholders to ensure meaningful, ground-up participation and discussion of Micron’s implementation and investments in the region and will also include five ex-officio member.

The formation of this group is a critical component of the Community Investment Framework agreement made between New York State and Micron in October 2022.

“Micron’s historic investment in Central New York will bring transformational growth to the region and to our state, and for a project of this magnitude, it is critically important that local residents have a seat at the table,” Gov. Hochul said.

The committee will work with Micron, Empire State Development (ESD), local governments and regional stakeholders to develop a Community Priorities Document – a guiding strategy for investing funding allotted in the Micron Community Investment Framework into existing and new opportunities for residents, including specific priorities for underrepresented communities.

Micron President and CEO Sanjay Mehrotra said, “We are delighted to be in Central New York to celebrate with Governor Hochul, the newly appointed members of the Micron Community Engagement Committee and other local partners the remarkable progress that has taken place since we announced the site of our leading-edge memory megafab here six months ago. The $500 million Green CHIPS Community Investment Fund will help build and transform a workforce for the future, and the Micron Community Engagement Committee will ensure that the wide-ranging benefits and opportunities our investments will bring to Central New York are available for all.”

Since Micron’s announcement back in October, one of the priorities was becoming involved in the Central New York community. This new committee is another step toward building stronger relationships.

“It will open up doors and keep doors open,” said Melanie Littlejohn, co-chair of the community engagement committee. “This work will build rewarding families and sustainable careers that will improve the economic vitality of this region.”

Littlejohn, also the vice president for New York customer and community management at National Grid, and Tim Penix, vice president of the Syracuse Educational Opportunity Center, have been selected as the committee co-chairs due to their proven public service track records and expertise and will assist in the management of this fund to better the lives of Central New Yorkers. In addition to the co-chairs, the members of the Committee are:

  • April Arnzen – Senior Vice President and Chief People Officer, Micron
  • Karen Belcher – Executive Director, Food Bank of Central New York
  • Donna DeSiato – Superintendent, East Syracuse Minoa School District
  • Bishop Ronald Dewberry – Senior Pastor, New Life Temple of Praise
  • Kristi Eck – Chief of Staff, SUNY Oswego
  • Courtney Geduldig – Corporate Vice President, Global Public and Government Affairs, Micron
  • Mark Hall – President and CEO, Syracuse Community Health
  • Jasenko Mondom – Employment Specialist, Refugee Assistance Program at Syracuse City School District
  • Meg O’Connell – Executive Director, Allyn Family Foundation
  • Hazel Powless – Haudenosaunne Environmental Task Force, Onondaga Nation
  • Kerry Quaglia – Founder and CEO, Home HeadQuarters
  • Sheena Solomon – Executive Director, The Gifford Foundation

Ex Officio members include:

  • Rob Beard – SVP and General Counsel, Micron
  • Kevin Younis – COO and Executive Deputy Commissioner, Empire State Development
  • Isabelle Harris – Director of Strategic Initiatives, Onondaga County
  • Sharon Owens – Deputy Mayor, City of Syracuse
  • Damian Ulatowski – Supervisor, Town of Clay

The Committee will focus on workforce development and diversity in the labor force; education and training in STEM fields to create opportunities for good paying jobs at Micron and supply-chain partners; expansion of safe and affordable housing; breaking down barriers to the workforce such as childcare and transportation and improvements to community assets and institutions that contribute to civic identity and well-being.